You are here:

Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT)

communication antenna tower against blue sky

National Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT)

In Ireland, Digital Switchover concluded on 24th October 2012 when RTÉ switched off the national analogue TV network.

Saorview is Ireland's national digital TV network.

Saorview and Saorsat

RTÉ owns and operates Saorview. It is subscription free. For further information on Saorview television and radio channels, see:

 To receive Saorview you will need to:

  • Live in an area which can receive Saorview signals - Coverage Checker on Saorview website
  • Have a UHF aerial pointed in the direction of the nearest Saorview transmitter site
  • Have a Saorview compatible digital TV or set top box

Saorview is available to 98% of the population.


For those who cannot receive Saorview, RTÉ has also established a satellite TV service called Saorsat. This is available to 100% of the population. Saorsat carries RTÉ 1, RTÉ 2 (HD), TG4, RTÉ 1+1 (From 7pm), RTÉjr (to 7pm), RTÉ News Now and the RTÉ radio channels. TV3 and 3e are not carried on this service.

Saorsat is subscription free. To receive Saorsat you will need a special satellite dish and Saorsat set top box.

Further information is available from RTÉ at:  . RTÉ also operates a telephone helpline and email service to answer specific queries you may have. The number for the helpline is 01 258 3540 or Lo-Call1890 222 012. The email address is

Pay TV

Digital television is also available in Ireland through pay TV operators over cable or satellite. These provide access to the main Irish TV channels as well as UK and other TV channels.

Other technologies such as Internet Protocol Television (IPTV) are also starting to emerge.​